The Lord’s Prayer for Mark. Japan. Summer 2012.


Mark, Stephen Des.

Are you having a good summer?

Is it getting hot?

Are you  hosting short term missionaries?

 

I am just trying to paint, since a friend of mine in Seattle told me to paint.  Good opportunities.

I thought I would try and write you a letter based on the Lord’s prayer to encourage you. We discussed the Lord’s Prayer in a class at St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church 115 St. Andrews Road Scarborough. The church was started  by a missionary who followed the river through the forest and then built a church working on a team of missionaries.  Lots of mosquitoes I guess.

 

Our Father

Inclusive languge is better than exclusive

Who art in Heaven.

God lives in the good times.

Hallowed be thy name.

God is described in an old testament book as sitting on a throne and the train of his robe. Long. Very powerful and majestic. Holy.

They Kingdom come.

We ask for God’s kingdom to come to the earth, so that He will bring in joy, peace and people chirping like friendly birds. I believe that His Kingdom is filled with love.

Thy will be done.

We want what God wants to be done. Not the devil, not us, not our ideas, but His.

On earth as it is in Heaven.

So what God wants is done in God’s place.  So we request the same for eath.

Give us this day, our daily bread.

So Peter pointed out in his writing that we shouldn’t say I will go here and there because any day, we could die. Just follow God today. Don’t use what if planning.

And forgive us our trespasses.

Without God’s forgiveness, I couldn’t go on. I know how bad I was/am. 

As we forgive others who trespass against us.

I think you know this .  see saw like. Like in a park.

Lead us not into temptation.

So I used to often pray in Japan that God would keep me away from the usual temptations that men have and in addition, my own personal temptations to sin.   Like a shepherd in Psa.m 23.

And deliImagever us from Evil.

I usually think of that scene in the Lord of the rings when the black winged monster is landing by surprise with an evil being on top to kill the king. The king of the horsemen.  He was surprised. He needed deliverance.

We are like that.

Sometimes hell comes upon us. We need deliverance.  God knows it, He will send it.

 For thine is the kingdom, the power and the glory, forever, and ever, amen.

I think Midori san, likes the song forever. I know I do.

So Mark, I hope that this encouraged you the way it did, make us think at the bible class at St. Andrews, I remember Mr. English taught tha class, we were divided up into groups to go thorugh the prayer week by week for a semester. It was really interesting.

 

I Skyped Brad 

Have a great night.

You the man.

 

Stephen

Leave a Reply

